Concept Development: S-Bahn Underground Station

I am pretty satisfied with the results of the track laying visualisation. I made some adjustments to the track positions to ensure I have some buffer space between adjacent tracks. 4 of the 6 tracks would be elevated starting from the end of Segment A-H; thus, I made sure that I have some buffer when I saw them – I am using cookie cutter method, whereby you cut and lift a portion of the roadbed for elevation.

One of the major adjustments was the tracks leading to the proposed S-Bahn underground station. This station could hold up to 3 coaches per track and with tighter than expected radius. I could not realise the radii that were originally drawn by my colleague. As a compromise, I have a sharper radius and shorter island platform. In addition, instead of a curved platform, I wanted that platform to be straight.

SegmentA-germaN160

IMG_6480

IMG_6483

The island platform would be 60mm wide with accesses in the middle and ends of the platform to the central station and street level.

IMAG3394

Between the S-Bahn station and the diamond crossings, a removable view would be added. I want to preserve the feeling of a typical underground station, modelled after either one of the new Leipzig City Tunnel stations or Frankfurt Hbf station. I am more inclined to the Leipzig City Tunnel station. Furthemore, there is no reason why ICE could not enter a S-Bahn underground tunnel; the proof.

Again, this is still at conception stage. New ideas popped into my mind once a while. So until the nail hits the coffin, so they say, nothing is final.

Leave a Reply

