Standards on germaN160

While waiting for the weekend to come and my second batch of plywoods (order sent), I decided to put down on print the standards that I am adopting on my layout – both as a reference for myself and for those who would like to adopt some forms of standards.

I am following the recommendations from NEM as well as the best practices (after consulting many expert modellers in both HO- and N-scale). You might be wondering why all the fuss over conforming to some standards and take the fun off model railroading. Well, better to take the fun off now than to take the fun off later. I have read many have operational issues on their layouts due to poor track laying, poor wirings, etc. It would be difficult to fix the problems once you have all the ballast and landscapes on top of the modules / benchworks.

standards1

I will add more as I go along. For now, these are the standards needed for me to complete the modules, track laying and track wiring for DCC.

Reference for converting American Wire Gauge (AWG) to sq. mm cross section.

2 thoughts on “Standards on germaN160

  1. Jimmy,

    For my aid, I have a couple of questions. Firstly about the wire gauge, for this scale, what is the probable wire distance (in m) that the voltage drop will happen based on the AWG size? Secondly, what does track and feeder bus mean? Your chart is an excellent guideline too.

    Eric

    • Eric,
      Q1: I recommend you refer to DCCWiki on voltage drop. http://www.dccwiki.com/Wire_sizes_and_spacing.The thicker the wire, the less resistance there is; thus less heat is lost. For the layout of my type, AWG18-24 is sufficient.

      Q2: Think of track bus like an electricity transmission grid that criss-cross the country where the power source is a power station (analog is commander station/power pack/booster). The feeder takes the power from a point on the bus at a point on the track, just like how the power is from grid is connected to each home.

      It is good to write down the standards that will be applied on your layout so that they are consistent and a basis why you adopt certain approaches.

      Jimmy

Leave a Reply

