Dremel DSM20 Compact Saw – A Product Review

I was fortunate to be one of the 200 selected test users from Germany to test Dremel’s latest compact saw Dremel DSM20. I was surprised and excited when I received the package last week, just as I was starting my Christmas holidays. I wanted to use this time to complete my ICE diorama rework, which you all know, has been moving rather slowly. Besides finding some time to work on it, I was also looking for the right tools. My colleague lent me his jigsaw, which is helpful for cutting curved shapes but to do straight cuts a circular saw could be helpful. Thanks to Dremel I had a compact circular saw last week.

In the package, I received the complete kit with Dremel DSM20 compact saw, a mitra, a straight cutting guide, 3 blade wheels (each 77mm in diameter), 18 pieces of extra blade wheels for cutting wood, PVC, bricks, tiles, metals, a Dremel cap, brochure, pen and notebook. Safety is important when using power tools. Dremel threw in a 3M protective glasses and a pair of earplugs. How thoughtful of them 🙂 On top of that, the kit comes with a nice carrying case.

1450940_10151823007072957_1545530121_n

With the DSM, I managed to cut the front panel of the diorama, which removing it from the screwed frame, using the DSM500 multipurpose carbide cutting wheel.  I chose this blade since it cuts woods. There is another DSM600 flush cut carbide wheel but I found it easier to work with DSM500. Because of its compact size and relative light weight (you could hold it with one hand), I could give the wheel and make a precise, straight and neat cut. Here are the photos to show what I meant.

IMG_6003The front panel of the diorama removed with DSM20

IMG_6004
A closeup shot. I was basically tracing the pencil mark with DSM20

IMG_6005 IMG_6006
More closeup shots of the cutting.

I also cut a small part of the side of the frame. Again, that was only a 7cm x 5cm piece that I needed to remove and surprisingly, I could remove them cleanly. I don’t think an ordinary circular saw could achieve that.

IMG_5983

I wanted to test it further if it could even remove 6mm excess wood. I overestimated the height of 2 support pieces and I was wondering whether I should a jeweler’s saw or I should try DSM20. I let DSm20 proof its worth. And yes, it successfully moved that shaded part. On top of that I found that I could use the compact saw to grind the wood and remove excesses (I just need a more steady hand. It comes with more practices).

IMG_6053

IMG_6055Okay, I shaved a bit too much at the right side.

Overall, I find this DSM20 a handy and flexible tool. It allows you to work on tight corners and has a vacuum cleaner adaptor which you can attach to your vacuum cleaner while working with DSM20. I do not have a proper workplace. I was using the cellar as my workplace and it is important that I keep the place clean. In the end, there is little dusting to do.

As I was working mainly with wood, I do not have a chance to test out other blade wheels such as DSM510 (for metal and plastic), DSM520 (for masonry), DSM540 (for tile) and DSM600 (for flush cutting). If DSM500 (for wood and multipurpose) can cut what I want to cut, I am sure the rest could perform the same. I would like to test out on other materials with other blade wheels in the near future.

For the short period of testing, I would personally vouch for the reliability and utility of this DSM20. Certainly it helped me progress with my diorama and in the near future, with my model railway modular layout. I have already purchased a piece of 10mm plywood, ready to be cut into sizes with my Dremel DSM20.

IMG_20131214_235132-1

257489101

Facebook Album (public view): Dremel DSM20 Test Results / Testergebnisse

3 thoughts on “Dremel DSM20 Compact Saw – A Product Review

  1. I bought the Dremel DSM20 last month I have used the wood blade for splitting and lifting floorboards. I found the blade inefficient and it quickly wore out. The blade is now only good for starting fires. I went to buy another one and found they were £22 from B&Q. To cut wood efficiently you need teeth not an abrasive edge. If I can find an effective blade I’d recommend the tool to anyone, but as it is a wood blade is a quarter of the price of the tool and just not up to the job. I’d be grateful if you could point me to a better blade option.

Leave a Reply

