More than Just Tiger Woods

As you can see, I am progressing on my first layout. The track plan is ready with some modifications once I get the frame done. My track work will be based on Oliver Bachmeier’s HO-scale track plan. The other structures and landscapes will be entirely different. I do not intend to replicate Oliver’s layout in N-scale. However, I do find his track work interesting as it incorporated a helix (or to be precise, nolix – a stretched version of helix), turnaround track and fiddle yard underneath the top visible level but within the same 2,3m by 1,0m frame. I do not need an extension to house the helix and fiddle yard; although I have already thought of a 2,3m by 0,5m extension, which will house an end terminal (similar to Frankfurt Hbf) and a service depot (Betriebswerk Bw)

I have found a tilt-table layout construction that fits into the real estate that I have been given. This construction will fit nicely in the space, taking up only 1,73 square meter and I can work comfortably in standing position due to its ability to tilt. Now comes the bigger challenge – type of wood.

The only time I did any serious carpentry work was back in 1987 (yes, I am that old!) when it was part of our school curriculum to learn carpentry, mechanical and electrical stuffs plus drafting. At least I have and will put what I have learn more than 20 years ago into use. My first drafting was the tilt-table since the reference book contains no measurements. Carpentry will be next. I wasn’t good at it if I recall what I constructed. That wooden stool did not sit straight. Hmm … and thank God my apartment is not even so I guess I could compensate for that 😀

I have already bought 2 IVAR frames, which will be the main benchwork. I need to screw them together to form one big 2,3m by 1,0m frame yet detachable when I need to move. The tilt-table support structure would have to be detachable too. The IVAR frames were made from pine wood (Kiefer in Deutsch, not Käfer (bug/beetle) which has almost the same pronunciation). It itself is light enough to transport. I am still thinking what kind of wood should I use for the support structure as well as the base board. I am not familiar with the European types of wood and probably the only wood I know is plywood and Tiger Woods.

I found 2 stores – Hartmann Holz  (URL) and Brandt Holz nearby my place (gosh, I should search within my town first) and would pay them a visit to learn more about the right types of wood to use – something light and durable. The Volume 2 Modellbahn BauPraxis (published by Alba Publikation) provides a good guide about the types of wood commonly use for layout constructions.

IMG_2286

There is always something new to learn in this hobby. Don’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

